Creating a Complex for Baby #2

Being pregnant while chasing a toddler is completely different than the first go-round. Many of my friends are just getting pregnant or having a baby the first time. When I interact with them, I realize just how different this pregnancy is for me!

1) I don’t keep track of how far along I am. I know my due date. I know what day of the week it is most of the time. But, I cannot tell you how many weeks I am, what size fruit/vegetable he is, or even how many months I am without pausing to think. With Annalise, I could tell you how many weeks gestation and how many days. I knew which day of the week I conceived, so I could look forward to increasing the weeks (i.e. going from 18 to 19 weeks). Not so with #2…I just really grasped I was really having a baby at our 22-week ultrasound.

2) I don’t read all the pregnancy emails. First time around, I read all the emails about how baby was developing and what I should expect in pregnancy. I even read ahead sometimes because I was so interested and fascinated by the whole process. It is amazing. But I’ve been there before. And now I’m busy…with a toddler. Many times, I don’t even read them before I click “delete.” Is that horrible?

3) I am not eager for my due date. This is the hardest one to admit. People ask me all the time, “Are you excited???” And it’s not really a fair question, because they’re assuming I’ll beam and say, “Oh my gosh, YESSSS!” But excited isn’t the adjective I’d use to describe my emotions. With Annalise? Yes! Excited and expectant and anxious BEYOND BELIEF! I couldn’t wait to meet her! But, this time? I’d like to meet baby boy (eventually), but he can stay in the womb as long as he’d like…because I kind of have my hands full. Maybe he could come out once Annalise is feeding herself without a mess, potty-trained, and has grown boobs to nurse baby brother? (I kid, I kid……..)

Will any of these affect baby boy? Not sure…(well maybe if his older sister nursed him…) Will he need counseling when he grows up? Perhaps, but that may or may not be related to the above statements… Will he meet with his campus pastor one day and talk about his imperfect parents? Probably… But hey, at least I am aware that I’m part of a problem. He is the second child. So it’s only my duty to make sure he fits the part, right?

So what was different about the pregnancy with your second child? I can’t be the only one creating a complex for my unborn son…

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Creating a Complex for Baby #2”

  1. Angela Says:

    HAHA – I think the other thing about baby number 2 is you remember what it felt like to push baby number 1 out. Really, do we have to do that again? I think, next time, the dad’s should take a turn! I was talking to my sister-in-law this weekend, who thinks that two weeks after her baby is born she will want to hop in a car and drive for 5 1/2 (lets be real, more like 9 hours) from Philly to Waynesboro for Christmas. She also doesn’t think she needs to do a birth class because she’s helped with deliveries in med school/residency. I’m sorry, dear, but standing next to someone who is pushing a human out of her body is NOT the same as doing it. When I think of labor and recovering, I’m a little more willing to wait on all of it as well, now that I really know what I’m in for!

    • bakedwithyeast Says:

      This is also so true! But for me, the “unknown” of labor pains neither brings fear or anticipation. I know it hurts. I know it could be long and grueling. I know I can do it, because I’ve done it before. So why do we need to do it again?

  2. Raeanne Says:

    When I read the title I thought you were building a complex….like a sports complex…for your baby. Phew! Glad I was wrong.

  3. Reason #234 Why Annalise is Gifted « Baked With Yeast Says:

    […] Baked With Yeast Documenting the good and the bad of parenthood « Creating a Complex for Baby #2 […]

  4. The Excuse for My Silence « Baked With Yeast Says:

    […] I am officially done being pregnant. I know I’ve posted before about not being eager for November to come, but I’m ready to have my body back. I’m […]

Leave a Reply

